Knowing and Doing the Will of God

imageWhen I was preparing for law school, I never considered that I was not within the perfect will of God. Although God permitted me to attend law school and subsequently practice law, I soon realized that God had other plans for my life. Even though I was not within his perfect will, he used that time period to sharpen my faith, and my dependence on him. He saw my heart and put me on the course that He had for my life. That’s what The Apostle Paul means when he says that all things work together for the good to those that love God and are called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).

Additionally, the Apostle Paul said to the Colossians that he and Timothy had not stopped praying for them and asking that they be filled with the knowledge of God’s will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding so that they would live a life worthy of the Lord, bearing fruit and pleasing him in every good work (Colossians 1:3-6). For many years, I struggled with knowing the will of God, although I desperately wanted to do it. I even believed that if something was good then God wanted me to do it. I did not have a clear understanding on the perfect will versus the permissible will of God. Many years later, while attending a church in Philadelphia, one of the associate pastors often said, “The will of God is to do the will of God.” But I never seemed to grasp it and I still asked myself what the will of God was for my life. I now know it is as succinctly as he put it: the will of God is to do the will of God.

The Bible is filled with scriptures that tell us God’s will. God, through his inspired servants, tells us to pray without ceasing, to look after the unfortunate, to live at peace, to love one another, to humble ourselves, to study and meditate on his word, and to praise him. Of course, many of us want specific directions for our lives. After and while doing the will of God, He will begin to reveal his perfect will for our lives. He will speak silently if we take a few moments to listen and He will give us peace about a decision we are making. Moreover, He will keep those in perfect peace whose minds are stayed on him (Isaiah 26:3). God will use scriptures to speak to us, and he will use people to confirm the direction we should take. Knowing the will of God starts with deep reflection on God’s word and daily prayer to know the steps God has for us. God says that the steps of a righteous man are ordered by the Lord (Psalm 37:23) and that His word is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path (Psalm 119:105). Doing his will will spare us from the ramifications of bad decisions. God can reroute us if we have detoured away from his will, if we sincerely ask for his help.image

If we are filled with the knowledge of his will, we will (Colossians 1: 9-12) :

*Bear fruit;

*Grow in the knowledge of God;

*Receive strength with all power;

*Endure and have patience;

*Give thanks and,

*Share in the inheritance of the saints

I pray that we will all seek to know his will and allow ourselves to be co laborers in Christ.

For further meditation and reflection read: Colossians 1 and John 15.

 

Leave a Reply

